Cardross Estate is the stunning backdrop for our wee festival, and oh what a backdrop!
Cardross Estate sits on the fringes of the Scottish Highlands and the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. Just to the north of is the Lake of Menteith, the only ‘Lake’ in Scotland. Close by are the famous Trossachs, immortalised by Sir Walter Scott and closely associated with Rob Roy MacGregor and exciting times in Scottish history.
Menteith was one of the five great districts into which Scotland was divided. The name of the house is Gaelic in origin and means “the fort on the promontary”. Cardross House is believed to have been built in 1598 by David Erskine, Commendator of Inchmahome Priory, where Mary Queen of Scots spent some time as a child.
For much of its history, the estate has been owned by the Erskines and remained so until it was bought in 1920 by the Orr Ewing family, who had previously resided at Ballikinrain Castle not far away in the Strathendrick district, between Fintry and Killearn. The present owners Sir Archie and Lady Orr Ewing have resided in the house since 1999.